P H O T O J O U R N A L I S M L I N K S

Sunday 11 April 2010

Features and Essays – Jane Hilton: Dead Eagle Trail (Telegraph: April 2010) Their way of life may be in terminal decline but, as a new book of photographs by Jane Hilton shows, America’s cowboys are dying with their boots on.

Agencies VII Magazine

Articles – Professional Photographer: 100 Most influential photographers of all time (Professional Photographer: April 2010)

Features and Essays – New York Times Lens blog is organising something cool: A Moment in Time : “Thousands of photographers of all experience levels will be capturing the same moment on Sunday, May 2nd at 15:00 U.T.C. That’s 8 a.m. in Los Angeles, 11 a.m. in New York City and Santo Domingo, 4 p.m. in Algiers and London, 7 p.m. in Moscow and 11 p.m. in Beijing. This is the first step in trying to connect photographers around the world. While everyone is encouraged  to participate, we are particularly hoping to see submissions from  photography students.  We are asking participants to think about where they want to be and what they will focus on. Consider how to represent yourself, and your community, with one image. To help stimulate ideas and to act as guides, we are suggesting the following categories for images:  ·   Religion  ·   Play  ·   Nature and the Environment  ·   Family  ·   Work  ·   Arts and Entertainment ·   Money and the Economy  ·   Community  ·   Social Issues Photos should be no larger than 5 MB, ideally 1000 pixels wide or more. In keeping with photojournalistic standards, please keep Photoshopping to a minimum.   After you take your photos, submit your best image as soon as possible to http://submit.nytimes.com/moment. The link will go live that morning, directing you to a Web form. You will be asked to categorize your photos by location and subject, and to include a caption that helps tell the story. Photos will quickly appear on the Lens Blog and The New York Times Web site. Your photo will be displayed in our A Moment in Time display, and may also be spotlighted in a Lens post.  For more information about A Moment in Time .  : You can also find us on Facebook :  Twitter for updates. To join our official Facebook event invite, click here : A Moment in Time is open to everyone.”  – James Estrin  Lens Blog Co-Editor  Senior Staff Photographer  NEW YORK TIMES

Features and Essays – Agnes Dherbeys: Protesters and Police Clash in Bangkok (NYT: April 2010)

Features and Essays – Dave Sanders: From Darfur to Brooklyn (NYT: April 2010)

Advertisements

Written by Mikko Takkunen

April 11, 2010 at 5:53 pm

Posted in photojournalism